Board.KolibriOS.org

Official KolibriOS board
It is currently Thu Nov 21, 2019 8:17 am

All times are UTC+03:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 4:08 pm 
Offline
Mentor/Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:01 am
Posts: 1248
Attached is a kernel with support for the r6040 network driver.
I'll upload the code when I cleaned it up, optimised it a bit and disabled superflous debug output.

If you find some bugs, or maybe even none at all, please tell me ;)

EDIT: file removed, added driver to trunk

_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction." Albert Einstein


Last edited by hidnplayr on Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 4:50 pm 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
Great work! But do you mean that in order to add R6040 network driver support, need to modify kernel.mnt ?
Is it the way with each new network driver you will add, or only specific to R6040 because of some issues?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 4:55 pm 
Offline
Mentor/Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:01 am
Posts: 1248
This is a kernel as it is in trunk, it has the network drivers integrated.

I still have to write the driver for net branch, wich has network drivers in seperate files.

_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction." Albert Einstein


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 4:59 pm 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
hidnplayr wrote:
This is a kernel as it is in trunk, it has the network drivers integrated.
I still have to write the driver for net branch, wich has network drivers in seperate files.

Oh, now I understand why everyone wants you to finish NET branch ASAP :wink:
Because in TRUNK all network drivers are inside KERNEL.MNT - I haven't realized that before. :roll:
I will test the driver now and let you know how goes :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:19 pm 
Offline
Mentor/Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:01 am
Posts: 1248
There are more problems with the old stack:
-slow: every time a packet enters another protocol handler, it is copied from one place in memory to another.
(For a tcp packet, this would be driver>kernel>ethernet>ip>tcp>socket>application)
-slow: drivers do not use interrupts, and thus only one packet can be inserted per os_loop in kernel
(Also, when there is no packet received, this uses resources)
-only one card can be active at a time, and the user cant chose wich one
-system functions for sockets are not universal standard (posix), but also not very good designed in general
-...

I'm trying to fix all that ;)

_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction." Albert Einstein


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:55 pm 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
I did get an IP address via DHCP, but could not use any network application.
When I tried, for example, HTML viewer, the "Loading" was stuck forever.
Please see attached BOARD.LOG as well as screenshots.

EDIT: I fixed a mistake I made in website address, but it still does not work. The CPU is maxed at 100%; Process Monitor reports "download" application using all the resources. When I click the green ">" button in HTMLv, it opens another "download" application and both begin to consume all the resources. I attached the correct screenshots and log now.
Attachment:
SCREEN11.png
SCREEN11.png [ 53.65 KiB | Viewed 5151 times ]

Attachment:
SCREEN12.png
SCREEN12.png [ 54.55 KiB | Viewed 5151 times ]


Attachments:
log_new.txt [8.65 KiB]
Downloaded 200 times


Last edited by yogev_ezra on Tue Feb 22, 2011 12:56 am, edited 4 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 7:11 pm 
Offline
Mentor/Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:01 am
Posts: 1248
I'm afraid the troubles you are experiencing are not caused by the network driver but by, in this case, the 'browser'.
AIRC for example should work without problems, press button 1 first, then when you see some activity, press button 2 an then type "/join #kolibrios" to join the kolibrios channel on freenode..

The only bug in driver I see is that sometimes a packet gets lost in RX/TX (1/100 packets in my case)

_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction." Albert Einstein


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:50 am 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
Yes, you were right - AIRC is working fine, left it on for the whole night with 100% CPU usage, still works in the morning.
Attachment:
SCREEN8a.png
SCREEN8a.png [ 156.19 KiB | Viewed 5239 times ]


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:47 am 
Offline
Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:52 pm
Posts: 1621
yogev_ezra, what did you expect from non-existing http address?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:51 am 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
CleverMouse wrote:
yogev_ezra, what did you expect from non-existing http address?

OMG LOL I only noticed now I typed 4 W :mrgreen: Well, I have an excuse: the Edubook keyboard is too small for my fingers :wink: Will try with eBox-3300MX tonight.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 12:56 am 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
I fixed a mistake I made in website address, but it still does not work. The CPU is maxed at 100%; Process Monitor reports "download" application using all the resources. When I click the green ">" button in HTMLv, it opens another "download" application and both begin to consume all the resources. I attached the correct screenshots and log now.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 12:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 11:11 am
Posts: 2814
yogev_ezra wrote:
I fixed a mistake I made in website address, but it still does not work. The CPU is maxed at 100%; Process Monitor reports "download" application using all the resources. When I click the green ">" button in HTMLv, it opens another "download" application and both begin to consume all the resources. I attached the correct screenshots and log now.

and you have enough free space on ramdrive? try to delete games and demos and may be something else, and try again...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:29 am 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
Sorcerer wrote:
and you have enough free space on ramdrive? try to delete games and demos and may be something else, and try again...

Following your suggestion, I deleted the following folders from "kolibri.img" - GAMES, 3D, DEMOS. Now I had around 350KB free. But it still did not work :(


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:56 am 
Offline
Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:52 pm
Posts: 1621
yogev_ezra, the information on where a program hangs will be useful. Try the following: run MTDBG, type "load downloader http://<URL>" without quotes, MTDBG should say "Program loaded successfully! PID=... Use "g" to run."; type "g" without quotes; wait until the program seems to be stuck consuming CPU and several seconds more to be sure; type "stop" without quotes, MTDBG should say "Suspended"; write here values of registers - top "subwindow" with EAX=... ... EIP=... Moreover, typing "g" again, after some time typing "stop" and writing the possibly new values of registers can be also interesting.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: r6040 (eBox 3300)
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 12:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 6:38 pm
Posts: 1222
хм.. а браузер до сих пор не использует расшаренную память, что стало возможным, начиная с "Вт окт 05, 2010 3:31 pm"?

_________________
И мы уже давно не пешки,
Мы пули, мы орлы, и решки!
Война ютит бинарный код,
Умри, или иди вперед!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+03:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited