Board.KolibriOS.org

Official KolibriOS board
It is currently Sun Aug 25, 2019 5:52 am

All times are UTC+03:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:05 am 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
I wrote a news item about 86Duino and its possible use with KolibriOS on habrahabr.ru: http://habrahabr.ru/company/kolibrios/blog/203948/

This news item got over 1000 visits to http://www.86duino.com/ , so the creator of 86Duino, Roboard employee (part of DMP Electronics group) Anthony Lu has noticed my article, read it (probably using Google Translate) and contacted me on Facebook. Below is a script of my correspondence with him, and he needs our help in order to install KolibriOS in BIOS.

yogev_ezra wrote:
Hi Anthony! What do you think about making a version of eBox with KolibriOS preinstalled inside SPI flash?
Anthony Lu wrote:
actually I am not charge ebox product, I am handle 86Duino, and also ebox does not include SPI flash.
yogev_ezra wrote:
86Duino is also good idea for KolibriOS. We are already discussing it with our team. But the problem is 86Duino doesn't have built-in video adapter. And I refer to 2MB internal flash that stores BIOS, not external SPI flash.
And I saw that you ported Coreboot to 86Duino, is it already running Coreboot on versions that you will sell on January 15th?
Anthony Lu wrote:
about Coreboot, yes
and the model call 86Duino One has reserve one PCIe slot, and it is capable to plug VGA Card, we already made another VGA chip, and will have PCIe VGA card in 2 or 3 months
current PCIe VGA in the market is very expensive around USD 100.00, so we will made our self
yogev_ezra wrote:
Yes this is exactly what I was thinking. I saw miniPCIe VGA cards for 50$ from Commell: http://www.commell.com.tw/Product/Perip ... PX-750.HTM but it makes the total cost too expensive and not worthy
Anthony Lu wrote:
yap, something like this VGA Card
and back to SPI issue
yogev_ezra wrote:
yes?
Anthony Lu wrote:
the internal EBOX SPI flash, not suggestion install OS
cuz inside flash not able to read / write many times
yogev_ezra wrote:
why? KolibriOS only needs 1.44MB, and the SPI flash is 2MB. BIOS uses 256KB, so enough left for KolibriOS. And KolibriOS never does write, only read.
it runs from RAM (creates RAM-disk), like Puppy Linux
Anthony Lu wrote:
OKay, I got it
yogev_ezra wrote:
I think you miss a big potential, I offer this many times and your staff never respond to my offer. We can pay money what is needed to adapt the eBox. We can do Kickstarter project and collect the amount of money needed, you just need to tell us how much it is worth.
Anthony Lu wrote:
oh.. sorry, as you know I am not charge ebox product, there is another manager handle
and I will talk to our boss directly about this,
yogev_ezra wrote:
yes I know, but you are the only guy from DMP who always cooperate and answer questions, so it's natural that people ask you :-)
other people in DMP never answer...
Anthony Lu wrote:
I forward your article to boss yesterday, you wrote about our CPU, he seems very interesting, I will talk with with when he back to Taiwan
yogev_ezra wrote:
Anthony Lu wrote:
yes, the Russian article, part 1 and part 3 ... can not see part 2.. ha ha
yogev_ezra wrote:
haha i wrote that part 2 doesn't published yet because I was in the army. I live in Israel, here you have to do army 3 years regular service, and then also every year 10-20 days reserve service, till age of 40. I am 36, so I still have to do it. So I was exactly doing it when I write part 2, and I decided to publish part 3 first.
I am glad you liked it. I really like your hardware because it's ideal for KolibriOS in my opinion - it's the cheapest x86 hardware today.
Anthony Lu wrote:
in Taiwan we do 2 years Army Service, and thanks love our product.
yogev_ezra wrote:
This Russian website has 1,000,000 views per week, it is the largest IT resource in Russia. And to write corporate blog there the subscription is very expensive, but because KolibriOS is free software, they give us to write the blog for free. So you may use this if you want to increase sales, I can write in Russian about your new products.
You just need to send me information.
I wonder how did you find out that I wrote this article about you yesterday? You got a lot of traffic from this website?
Anthony Lu wrote:
that is sounds good, I know the website is popular, cuz I check my record, there have more than 1000 visitor came to 86Duino.com, cuz this website link, that is why I find you
I have another meeting, need to go out, and keep in touch, your request I keep in mind, no worry.
and we can discuss all the time.
yogev_ezra wrote:
thank you very much for answering me, I hope we can continue discussion later today or tomorrow.
Anthony Lu wrote:
:-)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:19 am 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
Second part:
Anthony Lu wrote:
Yogev,
tomorrow I will find time, install 0.770 Floppy image to SPI via free DOS first.
yogev_ezra wrote:
Hi, but don't use 0770, it's very old from 4 years ago. Install the latest night build which is called 0770+: http://builds.kolibrios.org/eng/latest-img.7z

And if you have any question, please write me so I can help you with everything ASAP.
Latest night build supports USB, RDC R6040 network, HDA Audio etc. - version 0770 doesn't support any of those.
Anthony Lu wrote:
what 4 years ? oh,, I saw it
well, just the IMG
how to install, if I just boot from free dos as A:
and I put IMG on USB as C:
yogev_ezra wrote:
If you want to install KolibriOS on disk with FreeDOS, then the easiest way is to use GRUB4DOS.
Here is a link to example configuration file, but you will need to change it according to your actual disk configuration: download/file.php?id=4837

A: is the internal SPI flash disk? I wonder how GRUB4DOS sees it, as (hd0,0) or as something else. If (hd0,0) doesn't work, you can try to replace
map (hd0,0)/kolibri.img (fd0)
with 2 lines:
find --set-root /kolibri.img
map --mem /kolibri.img (fd0)
Anthony Lu wrote:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGVuwE9nw2s

short test, but use external SPI Flash, will try install to internal SPI, we need to do some modification for internal SPI, will update you later, and one 1 question is the network is working ? cuz I can see the MAC add and ipv4 infromation, but can not ping out... any config I need to change ?

I use rawrite to install but stop at track 4x.. see the photo, the Internal SPI have 1,558K, use external is working but can not work from Internal SPI
Spoiler: Show
Attachment:
1493097_10202147160373442_1206865567_n.jpg
1493097_10202147160373442_1206865567_n.jpg [ 109.74 KiB | Viewed 6529 times ]

Attachment:
1543608_10202147161333466_839109343_n.jpg
1543608_10202147161333466_839109343_n.jpg [ 141.54 KiB | Viewed 6529 times ]
yogev_ezra wrote:
Hi Anthony. The network card R6040 should be working, I have eBox-3310MX for testing, and my colleagues have eBox-3300MX and eBox-3300-L2 . I manage to use text-based browser in KolibriOS to browse the internet. Maybe you have problem receiving DHCP configuration, it can happen sometimes.

Regarding RAWRITE tool, I have no idea. Maybe it cannot work with non-standard floppy size. I wonder if you can try installing FreeDOS and then using GRUB4DOS to start KolibriOS from FreeDOS. Anyway, I am not very technical person, I deal more with public relations and promoting KolibriOS. We have a developers forum where all developers hang out, and they are much more experienced than me. So I have copied our Facebook correspondence to the developers forum, and asked the developers to help: viewtopic.php?f=25&t=2555

If you please can register to that forum and post your progress there, then all developers can help you and it would happen much faster.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:27 am 
Offline
Mentor/Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:01 am
Posts: 1248
Anthony Lu wrote:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGVuwE9nw2s

short test, but use external SPI Flash, will try install to internal SPI, we need to do some modification for internal SPI, will update you later, and one 1 question is the network is working ? cuz I can see the MAC add and ipv4 infromation, but can not ping out... any config I need to change ?


Well, Is the IPv4 address on the R6040 interface 0.0.0.0 ?

_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction." Albert Einstein


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:01 am 
Thanks for the news!

This sounds great!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 12:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:39 am
Posts: 5
I can get the IP from DHCP

Spoiler: Show
Attachment:
File comment: LAN setting
2014-1-10 下午 05-32-21.png
2014-1-10 下午 05-32-21.png [ 869.22 KiB | Viewed 6491 times ]


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 12:38 pm 
Offline
Mentor/Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:01 am
Posts: 1248
lucrecelu wrote:
I can get the IP from DHCP


Ok, that's a good start, and what happens when trying to ping?
Does DNS work? (or did you enter an IP address?)

_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction." Albert Einstein


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 12:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:39 am
Posts: 5
can not ping out... even gateway... :shock:

Spoiler: Show
Attachment:
1.png
1.png [ 725.6 KiB | Viewed 6489 times ]


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 12:56 pm 
Offline
Mentor/Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:01 am
Posts: 1248
lucrecelu wrote:
can not ping out... even gateway... :shock:


Ok, interesting, I'll try to replicate the scenario on an eBox to see if it's related to your IP settings.
For quickest solution, I would need to see the traffic on the ethernet, it can be captured using wireshark on another computer.

_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction." Albert Einstein


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 2:15 pm 
Offline
Mentor/Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:01 am
Posts: 1248
It seems the R6040 ethernet driver has problems receiving the ARP response sometimes.

I'll try to figure out how to get it working...

_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction." Albert Einstein


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 4:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:39 am
Posts: 5
I changed 3 different type board, got same problem.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 6:47 pm 
Offline
Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:52 pm
Posts: 1620
Rawrite2 incorrectly determines drive geometry.
Try http://ftp.kolibrios.org/users/CleverMo ... write2.exe with http://ftp.kolibrios.org/users/CleverMo ... olibri.img , these are quickly hacked based on latest autobuild.

_________________
Сделаем мир лучше!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:35 pm 
Offline
Mentor/Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:01 am
Posts: 1248
lucrecelu wrote:
I changed 3 different type board, got same problem.


There was an error in R6040 driver, please try nightbuild #4439 or later.
http://builds.kolibrios.org/eng/latest-img.7z

_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction." Albert Einstein


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:39 am
Posts: 5
1. Tried with #4439 IMG, via old RAWRITE2, can see received package but still can not ping out
2. Tried CleverMouse provide Rawrite2 write #4439 IMG got Faile,write to Trk 44 then done. (Got Kernel MMT ?)
3. with hackbased build, is working... with Russian UI .. lol, but same issue can not ping out


Attachments:
4437-1.png
4437-1.png [ 643.89 KiB | Viewed 6349 times ]
4437.png
4437.png [ 501.24 KiB | Viewed 6349 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:42 am 
Offline
Mentor/Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:01 am
Posts: 1248
lucrecelu wrote:
1. Tried with #4439 IMG, via old RAWRITE2, can see received package but still can not ping out .

I'll need more information..

In the link you'll find a version of KolibriOS with extended debug information for R6040 driver.
Please boot this version, open the program named 'debug board', try pinging and post boardlog.txt here.
boardlog.txt will be generated by debug board program in /RD/1/ folder, you can copy it to USB or harddrive using one of the file managers.

http://ftp.kolibrios.org/users/hidnplay ... 0_debug.7z

PS: it's also possible to redirect the debug information to the RS232 com port, if that's more convenient...

_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction." Albert Einstein


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 2:06 pm 
Offline
Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:52 pm
Posts: 1620
lucrecelu wrote:
2. Tried CleverMouse provide Rawrite2 write #4439 IMG got Faile,write to Trk 44 then done. (Got Kernel MMT ?)

This is expected. The nightbuild as is can not find KERNEL.MNT. This is why I have provided a patched image.
lucrecelu wrote:
3. with hackbased build, is working... with Russian UI .. lol, but same issue can not ping out

Then, I assume, the problem with booting from ROM is solved.

_________________
Сделаем мир лучше!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC+03:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited