Board.KolibriOS.org

Official KolibriOS board
It is currently Wed May 22, 2019 8:13 am

All times are UTC+03:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:55 am 
I try to install and run C&C Red Alert 1 from Westwood within dosbox as it is freely available and I really like this game.

So if someone can help me or wants to test himself here some instructions.

First you need to download the free command and conquer red alert 1 cds from westwood.
Than start dosbox within kolibrios and
mount d: /cd1/1/ -t cdrom
setup

and choose sound soundblaster 16/AWE 32

so far so good, but than you have to select the drive to copy the install media and c: /bd1/1/ seems not to work.
I tested with /hd1/1 and /tm1/1 but could not make a directory on those. Is there a read only setting I miss?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:01 am 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
If your hard disk is EXT2/3/4 or NTFS, then writing to it is not supported and it will be read-only. FAT12/16/32 both read and write is supported. /tmp1/1 should work as it's a RAM disk. Please post screenshots of your actions to make it easier to help you.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:54 am 
Okay will do so during the afternoon. The harddisc is fat32 so should work. But I recognized a stout.log perhaps something went wrong because of virtualisation with virtualbox.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 5:30 pm 
So I found out that md does not work but when mount with option -freesize 500 and selecting a directory already on the hdd it got me beyone that step. No even with core=dynamic or full I do get a crash with cc redalert 1 so I download cc tiberium sunrise and test these cds. On the dosbox forum people post that setting of core mode and ramsize must be set right for each game. we will see xD


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 8:29 pm 
arg the gdi.iso is not recognized by the system even though it works on the win 7 system and cc red alert hangs on install routine.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 8:32 pm 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
Are we back to the era of text-only adventure games? A picture is worth a thousand words!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 1:29 am 
The Installer starts the 100% installation copy prozess and the virtualbox crashes no picture can discribe my anger xD


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 2:07 pm 
Without sound the installer once worked. It seems to me that fat32 support and virtualbox do make problems. Every second boot the vdi harddisc is not seen or there are files shown that do not exist. Rebooting the virtual machine resets and everything seems to be okay again. I need to find a old "real" pc to test again first.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 2:19 pm 
Offline
Kernel Developer

Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:37 pm
Posts: 2329
baggacfreak
I do not want you to spoil the enjoyment of the process of installing the game, but ... but I used it about 2 years ago and even the sound worked, but DosBox can not play because the mouse is moving not properly. It's hard to explain in words - you need to see for yourself.

P.S. RA - one of my favorite games after Fallout 1 and 2.

_________________
Всем чмоки в этом проекте! Засуньте эти 11 лет себе в жопу!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:23 pm 
Mario_r4
Thanks for the answer. Did you try tiberium sun gold edition, too? Guess mouse emulation might be not the best within dosbox if it is not full screen. Is there a way to go fullscreen beside settint it to true in the config file?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 11:11 am
Posts: 2814
There's no "fullscreen mode" in KolibriOS.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 6:14 pm 
You mean no fullscreen mode in dosbox I guess.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 11:57 am 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fR3MU6QXk7Y

Yesterday I had some time and installed it on windows 7 and copied the files over to kolibrios on virtual box and it seems to work. For the first try I did no sound, but will test more and add sound if possible.

Is there sound support on dosbox for kolibrios?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 2:48 pm 
So sound does work, but during loading times it studders. Elseway I love how c&c red alert works. I tested some more games (keen 1,2,4,6, biomenace, simcity, battle chess ...) They seem to work with sound. So nice addition off games working under kolibri os!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC+03:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited