Board.KolibriOS.org

Official KolibriOS board
It is currently Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:35 am

All times are UTC+03:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Aracne
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 11:46 am
Posts: 58
Hello!

Arachne is built in C :shock: , is it possible to port it to KOS? :wink:

http://www.glennmcc.org/

Has anyone tried? :roll:


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Aracne
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:46 pm 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
Interesting idea. Maybe try to run it inside DosBox in Kolibri?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Aracne
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 11:11 am
Posts: 2814
Certainly, you can try to run it in DosBox, but I know nothing about network support in Kolibri port of DosBox.
Sources aren't fully ANSI C compatible, there are a lot of DOS or Linux funcs... And this browser is out-of-date :(


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Aracne
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 11:46 am
Posts: 58
Quote:
Interesting idea. Maybe try to run it inside DosBox in Kolibri?


ohhh!!! :shock: Does DosBox work in Kolibrios? Where can I donwload it?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Aracne
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:47 pm 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
http://diamond.kolibrios.org/prg/dosbox.7z


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Aracne
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:57 pm 
Offline
Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:52 pm
Posts: 1620
The DOSBox port is included in the distribution kit of KolibriOS 0.7.7.0.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Aracne
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:16 pm 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
CleverMouse wrote:
The DOSBox port is included in the distribution kit of KolibriOS 0.7.7.0.

Yes but if he wants to try it in the latest Auto-Build made by you, he needs to add it separately.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Aracne
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:22 pm 
Offline
Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:52 pm
Posts: 1620
yogev_ezra, one must use the full distribution kit in order to get all of the OS, because, well, it is the distribution kit; the floppy image alone - which is auto-built - is not intended to be self-sufficient, it even does not contain any installers and loaders.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Aracne
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:02 pm 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
CleverMouse wrote:
yogev_ezra, one must use the full distribution kit in order to get all of the OS, because, well, it is the distribution kit; the floppy image alone - which is auto-built - is not intended to be self-sufficient, it even does not contain any installers and loaders.

But the distribution kit is very old, it does not contain HD audio support or other new features.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Aracne
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:06 pm 
Offline
Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:52 pm
Posts: 1620
...or many new bugs, keep this in mind. Anyway, it is required.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Aracne
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:25 pm 
Offline
Kernel Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:52 pm
Posts: 1620
yogev_ezra, HD audio is not in the repository, so night builds do not support it either.

Returning to the DOSBox: the KolibriOS port does not support network activity.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Aracne
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:54 am
Posts: 2
Even the Windows and Linux versions of Dosbox don't support the kind of networking needed for Arachne to display pages.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Aracne
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 8:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 12:12 am
Posts: 1
yogev_ezra wrote:
CleverMouse wrote:
yogev_ezra, one must use the full distribution kit in order to get all of the OS, because, well, it is the distribution kit; the floppy image alone - which is auto-built - is not intended to be self-sufficient, it even does not contain any installers and loaders.

But the distribution kit is very old, it does not contain HD audio support or other new features.



Yes you're right yogev_ezra..its very old, so the new features aren't there! Im wondering what version is supporting the kind of network to view Arachne. :?:

_________________
http://cmpgns.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Aracne
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:21 pm 
Offline
Public Relations
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm
Posts: 1879
Arachne + DosBox + network patch for DosBox = PROFIT: http://habrahabr.ru/post/170733/


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC+03:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited